The McCain Top 10 Potato Growers were recognized at the annual McCain Grower Barbecue at the Aroostook County Shiners’ Club in Presque Isle on Aug 25. Almost 300 guests gathered to celebrate the top growers and their achievements.

Champion grower selection is based on the highest standing quality of the following three delivery categories: field direct delivery, winter storage delivery and refrigerated storage. To attain the position of Champion Grower, Flewelling Farms placed third in the grower storage category and third in refrigerated storage.

Flewelling Farms have been growing potatoes for McCain Foods since the company took over the Easton factory in 1976. Bruce Flewelling said he was surprised to receive the award and owed the farms’ success to a lot of hard work, dedicated employees, and a progressive approach that includes trying innovative practices and making smart decisions.

Allison McCain, Chairman of McCain Foods Limited, was on hand to extend personal congratulations to the Flewelling family and all of the McCain growers. In his address to the group, McCain shared that the US and World Markets are back in a growth trend and that is good news for our business; also adding that that this is an exciting time for agriculture, as a lot of new technologies are coming into the system.

Other McCain personnel on hand to congratulate the growers included Dale McCarthy, VP of Integrated Supply Chain for McCain North America, Christine Wentworth, McCain VP of Agriculture North, David Good, McCain Foods Director of Agriculture, Leigh Morrow, Director of Agronomy North America East, Yves Leclerc, Director of Agronomy North America, Germain Pinette, Director of Manufacturing East, Dave McKenney, Easton Plant Manager and Bart Bradbury, Field Department Manager.

Other special guests included Walter Whitcomb, Commissioner of Agriculture, Conservation, Forestry and Ellis Additon, Director of Animal and Plant Health.

In the category of Field Direct Delivery, Pelletier Farms of St. David (Adrian and Ken Pelletier) claimed the top spot. Second place in this category went to Ayer Potato Company of Caribou (Artie and Aaron Ayer) and third place went to Theriault Farms of St. Agatha (Gerard, Duane, and Glen Theriault).

In the Winter Storage Delivery category first place was awarded to Bell Farms of Mars Hill (Bryan and Kramer Bell). Second place in this category went to G&M Farms of Limestone (Gilles and Trevor Michaud).  Third place was awarded to Ayotte Farms of Hamlin (Scott and Eric Ayotte).

In the Refrigerated Storage Category, first place was awarded to Guerrette Farms Corp of Caribou (Ryan, Brian, and Andy). Second Place in this category went to Triple G Sales of Limestone (John, Matt and Steve Griffeth along with their father John Griffeth). Third place went to Hagan Farms (Mike, Chris, and Jamie Hagan of Houlton).

Each Top Ten Grower received a cash award of $1,000 and a plaque in recognition of their accomplishment.

Trending This Week

Cover crop of rye and peas

Improving Our Soil Health for the Future

At our family farm, Swansfleet, in Bruxelles, Man. quality has always been the driving force behind everything we do. Lately, that drive for quality...
Potato School

Potato School – Is It On Your Calendar?

WHAT — Potato School is a half day, free-to-all virtual learning event hosted by TriCal Group for anyone in the potato business. Since soil-borne disease...
Kevin MacIsaac recognition award

P.E.I. Potato Board Banquet Looks Back on Challenging Years

The Prince Edward Island Potato Board held its annual awards dinner for the first time since 2020 due to the pandemic, a Nov. 25...
Potatoes in storage

Ultra-early Sprouting is a Storage Nightmare

For the last month, I’ve been receiving calls from growers scrambling with piles that are already sprouting. I’m not talking about one or two...
Alberta Potato Conference and Tradeshow stage

Potato Growers of Alberta Wraps Up First Post Pandemic Conference

The Alberta Potato Conference and Tradeshow wrapped up its first event in three years on Nov. 17, 2022. The last day of the conference...