NewsIndustryS-Scan Farms McCain Champion Grower in Alberta

S-Scan Farms McCain Champion Grower in Alberta


S-Scan Farms of Scandia, Alta. was named the McCain 2016 Crop Year Champion Potato Grower for the McCain Coaldale plant during the annual Growers’ Appreciation Banquet held at the Coast Hotel in Lethbridge.

Stan and Stuart Kanagawa accepted the Champion Grower Award for S-Scan Farms. They have been in the top 10 line-up a total of eight times.

The growers who qualified for the top 10 roster, in order of final standings, were:

  1. S-Scan Farms (Champion Grower) – Stan & Stuart Kanagawa, Scandia
  2. Chin Coulee Spud Farms – John, Delbert & Dwayne Vossebelt, Chin
  3. Claassen Farms Ltd. – Louis & JP Claassen, Vauxhall
  4. Woordman Farms – Arjan & Wietske Woordman, Taber
  5. Zeimak Farms – Marko Maksymytz & Jerry Zeinstra, Taber
  6. Perry Produce – Harold & Chris Perry, Chin
  7. Stiekema Kolhorn JV – Laus Stiekema & Jaco Kolhorn
  8. Tamminga Farms – Bill Tamminga & Harvey DeBoyer, Barnwell
  9. Torsius Tater Farms – Bill & Andrew Torsius, Grassy Lake
  10. Lane Lievaart Farms – Lane Lievaart, Chin

Trending This Week

Introducing PhycoTerra® Soil Microbial Food, One of this Year’s Spud Smart Top Innovations

Incredible new technologies and products are being launched across the potato value chain, including this entry from Heliae Development, LLC We requested nominations for innovative...

Trapped in a Circular Discussion on Verticillium Management

I just stepped out of a meeting between several university agronomy faculty members and about a dozen vegetable farmers at a potato industry association. The...

Upcoming Webinar – Tackling Moisture When it’s Too Much / Too Little / Too...

How can growers promote crop resilience and maximize productivity when conditions are less than ideal? Get the advice you need in our webinar at...

Soil Fumigation Changes the Game for Potato Seed Farm Economics

In today’s potato growing reality, a calculator is as critical to business success as good field management skills. So, let’s talk math: We conducted a...

Precise Variety Labeling is Critical for Culinary Consistency

We need to start telling people exactly what variety of potato they’re buying. Have you noticed that we don’t offer the same service to the...